Continuous Assessment/Evaluation System (Class: VI to VIII)

CCE (continuous and comprehensive Evaluation) refers to a system of school based evaluation of a student that covers all aspects of a student ‘s development . 

Comprehensive means a scheme which covers both scholastic and co – scholastic aspects of the students growth and development. i.e., the all round development of a child’s personality. Evaluation is a continuous process and is spread over the entire span of the academic session. 


Scholastic Area

Formative Assessment (F.A.) - These will be conducted 4 times in an year. (2 during the First Term and 2 during the II term)
Each F.A. would be of 20 marks. A pen and paper test would also be a part of several other evaluation techniques which the teacher would use. The FAs will be conducted in the form of quizzes, research projects, activities, experimental work, group work, model and chart making, enactments, lab activities, debates, recitations, extempore, etc.

Summative Assessment (S.A.)
– As the name suggests will sum up how much a student has learned from the course. It will be a written exam and will be conducted twice in a year in the months of September and March.

The nine point grading scale for measuring Scholastic achievements is reproduced below

 A1 91-100 10.0
 A2 81-90 9.0
 B1 71-80 8.0
 B2 61-70 7.0
 C1 51-60 6.0
 C2 41-50 5.0
 D 33-40 4.0
 E1 21-32 3.0
 E2 00-20 2.0

English Assessment Pattern of Summative Assessment (SA-1 and SA-2)

Written Assessment
SA-1 :: 70 Marks + 20 Marks for ASL=90 Marks 
SA-2 :: 70 Marks +10 (OTBA, If applicable) + 20 Marks for ASL=100 Marks 

Weightage of Formative Assessment (FA) and Summative Assessment (SA)

Assessment of Scholastic Areas

Note: It is mandatory for students to appear in SA -1 and SA -2 examinations. No weightage of any kind will be given in absence due to any reason.

Co-Scholastic Areas

The grading scale for measuring Co-Scholastic achievements is reproduced below

 A 4.1-5.0
 B 3.1-4.0
 C 2.1-3.0
 D 1.1-2.0
 E 0.0-1.0

Student must obtain the qualifying grade (minimum grade D) in all the subjects under Scholastic and Co-Scholastic Domain.

Assessment of Co-Scholastic Areas